West Point's Murphy wins 5A Mr. Football

Marcus Murphy is recognized as Class 5A Mr. Football at a banquet at Vaught-Hemingway stadium Thursday night.
Staff Writer

West Point senior Marcus Murphy was recognized as 2017 MHSAA Class 5A Mr. Football in Oxford Thursday night.

Murphy, a Mississippi State commit, has rushed for 1,630 yards and 27 touchdowns this season, while throwing for 977 yards and nine scores on 48-for-83 passing. With one game left, Murphy will likely eclipse 1,000 passing and 1,700 rushing on the season.

Murphy, a three-year starter for the Green Wave, has amassed over 5,000 yards and 68 touchdowns rushing in his high school career, while throwing for 1,844 and 20 touchdowns. Murphy has been responsible for 7,059 total yards in his West Point career, which includes three receiving touchdowns.

Mississippi’s Mr. Football winners were announced at a banquet at Vaught-Hemingway Stadium leading into this weekend’s championship games.

Tupelo linebacker Jeff Johnson, also a MSU commit, took home the Class 6A award, while Pontonoc offensive lineman Cole Smith, an LSU commit, took home the Class 4A honors.

Class 3A Mr. Football was awarded to Yazoo County quarterback Kenny Gainwell, a Memphis commit, while Pisgah running back Don Ragsdale won the Class 2A award. Simmons running back Marquez Pam took home the Class 1A Mr. Football honors.

Murphy will play his last game in a Green Wave uniform Saturday night at 7 p.m., as West Point squares off against Hattiesburg in the Class 5A state championship at Vaught-Hemingway Stadium in Oxford.