One removed from Clay Co. Democratic ballot

Steve Rogers
Staff Writer

One would-be candidate is removed from the August Democratic primary ballot because he didn’t provide the party’s Executive Committee with proof of his residency.

“We called him and asked him to bring us some proof that he lived there. We checked for a Homestead exemption in his name and there was’t one. Without any proof of where he lived, we couldn’t qualify him to run,” Executive Committee Chairman Pat Cannon said of Johnnie Collins, who had qualified late on March 1, the last qualifying day, to challenge incumbent District 2 Constable Lewis Stafford.

On his qualifying papers, the 57-year-old Collins listed 1860 Melton Bottom Road as his residency and P.O. Box 112 as his mailing address.

Collins loses his $100 qualifying fee. With Collins’ name removed, Stafford is running unopposed.

Cannon said all the other candidates met the qualifications and proof of residency and were certified to run in the Aug. 6 primary.

One Libertarian candidate will be on the November ballot.

No Republicans qualified.

The Democratic Primary is Aug. 6 with runoffs three weeks later if necessary. The Democratic nominees run unopposed on the Nov. 5 general election ballot except in the Tax Assessor’s race. The winners take office Jan. 1, 2020.

The Democratic Party qualifiers include:

District 1 Supervisor: Henry “Gene” Brown, Incumbent Lynn Horton, and Marion McClenton.

District 2 Supervisor: Rashaad Greenlee, Gary Gwathney, Incumbent Luke Lummus, Daryl Thomas.

District 3 Supervisor: Incumbent R.B. Davis, Willie S. “Lobo” Dean, and Heath Donahoo.

District 4 Supervisor: Incumbent Shelton Deanes, Jerry Randle;

District 5 Supervisor: Incumbent Joe Chandler , Jimmy McKee, and Bill Tribble.

Circuit Court Clerk: Wendy Fuller, Jeff Holcombe, Kim Brown Hood, Barbara Jean Spraggins, Jimmy Taggart.

Sheriff: Incumbent Eddie Scott, Jeromiah Staten.

Chancery Court Clerk: Incumbent Amy Berry.

Tax Assessor: Deputy Tax Assessor Porsha Johnson Lee.

Coroner: Incumbent Alvin Carter.

Justice Court Judge District 1: Carl Carter, Incumbent Thomas Hampton.

Justice Court District 2: Rebecca Gibson, Incumbent Chris McBrayer.

County Prosecutor: Incumbent Michelle Easterling.

Constable District 1: Incumbent Sherman Ivy

Constable District 2: Incumbent Lewis Stafford.

Tax Assessor: Michael Collier.