Clay voters to decide on tax assessor, legislators today

Daily Times Leader

While most of the county races were won in the primary for many candidates, voters in Clay County will take to the polls today to choose the county’s next tax assessor, in addition to two contested legislative races.

Deputy Tax Assessor Porsha Johnson Lee, a longtime assistant to Tax Assessor Paige Lamkin, is running for the tax assessor office as a Democrat and will face Libertarian Michael Collier for the office.

Lamkin is not seeking another term.

The only other open office is that of Clay County Circuit Clerk Bob Harrell, who is also not seeking another term.

Kim Brown Hood won a crowded Democratic field for the open office and will not face a Republican challenger on the ballot today.

The following incumbents also won their primaries and do not have competition in today’s primary: District Attorney Scott Colom, District 1 Supervisor Lynn Horton, District 2 Supervisor Luke Lummus, District 3 Supervisor R.B. Davis, District 4 Supervisor Shelton Deanes, District 5 Supervisor Joe Chandler, County Coroner Alvin Carter, Chancery Clerk Amy Berry, County Prosecutor Michelle Easterling, Sheriff Eddie Scott, District 1 Justice Court Judge Thomas E. Hampton, District 2 Justice Court Judge Chris McBrayer, District 1 Constable Sherman Ivy and District 2 Constable Lewis Stafford.

All of the county’s incumbent elected officials ran as Democrats.


Two area races for the Mississippi House of Representatives will be contested on Tuesday’s ballot.

House District 37, which covers parts of Clay, Lowndes and Oktibbeha counties, will see incumbent state Rep. Gary Chism, a Columbus Republican, take on Libertarian challenger Vicky Rose, of West Point.

Incumbent House District 36 state Rep. Karl Gibbs, a West Point Democrat, will also see a challenger on the ballot tomorrow in independent candidate Jessica Lewis.

Gibbs defeated Jimmy Davidson in the Democratic Primary.

District 36 covers parts of Clay and Monroe counties.

In Mississippi House District 38, incumbent Democratic state Rep. Cheikh Taylor defeated challenger Lisa Wynn in a party primary rematch in August to secure his first full term in office after winning a special election in 2017.
Taylor represents parts of Clay, Lowndes and Oktibbeha counties.

State Sen. Angela Turner-Ford, a West Point Democrat is also running unopposed.

In Clay County, the only other district-wide race will be for transportation commissioner, after current Northern District Transportation Commissioner Mike Tagert announced he would not seek re-election. That race will feature Republican John Caldwell of Nesbit against Democrat Joey Grist of Tupelo.

Incumbent Northern District Public Service Commissioner Brandon Presley, a Democrat, does not have a Republican challenger on Tuesday’s ballot.

Voters in Clay County will also cast ballots in contested races for the following statewide and district offices: governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, state treasurer, attorney general, agriculture commissioner, and insurance commissioner.
Polls will open at 7 a.m. on Tuesday and close at 7 p.m.