All 5 supervisors races now contested


A Clay County resident qualifies to run for District 2 supervisor, meaning unless someone withdraws, all five supervisors races will be contested this summer.

Gary Gwathney, of 917 Clisby Road, qualified Thursday to challenge Incumbent Luke Lummus.

Qualifying opened Jan. 2 and continues until 5 p.m. March 1.

The Democratic and Republican primaries are Aug. 6 with runoffs three weeks later if necessary. The winners of the party nominations face off in the Nov. 5 general election and take office Jan. 1, 2020.
All the candidates who qualified so far are running as Democrats.
The qualifiers include:

District 1 Supervisor: Henry “Gene” Brown, Incumbent Lynn Horton, and Marion McClenton.

District 2 Supervisor: Gary Gwathney, Incumbent Luke Lummus.

District 3 Supervisor: Incumbent R.B. Davis, Willie S. “Lobo” Dean, and Heath Donahoo.

District 4 Supervisor: Incumbent Shelton Deanes, Jerry Randle;

District 5 Supervisor: Incumbent Joe Chandler , Jimmy McKee, and Bill Tribble.

Circuit Court Clerk: Wendy Fuller, Kim Brown Hood, Barbara Jean Spraggins, Jimmy Taggart.

Sheriff: Incumbent Eddie Scott, Jeromiah Staten.

Chancery Court Clerk: Incumbent Amy Berry.

Tax Assessor: Deputy Tax Assessor Porsha Johnson Lee.

Coroner: Incumbent Alvin Carter.

Justice Court Judge District 1: Carl Carter, Incumbent Thomas Hampton;

Justice Court District 2: Incumbent Chris McBrayer.

County Prosecutor: Incumbent Michelle Easterling.

Constables: Incumbents Sherman Ivy and Lewis Stafford.