5A champion West Point football team honored by lawmakers

For Daily Times Leader

The Mississippi Senate on Wednesday honored the West Point High School Green Wave football team with presentation of Senate Concurrent Resolution 529 commending their third consecutive MHSAA Class 5A State Championship.
The Green Wave on December 1, 2018, defeated West Jones, 27-12 to clinch their third-straight state championship – the 10th in school history.
Senator Angela Turner Ford, primary author of the resolution, presented the plaque in the Senate chambers before they were recognized by the House of Representatives for their historic win.
Turner Ford then gathered the students and staff on the front, southern steps of the Capitol for a group photo.

Standing left to right in the front row are: Principal Jermaine Taylor, Principal Kendell Pickens, Representative Cheikh Taylor, Senator Angela Turner Ford, Coach Chris Chambless, Reita Humphries, Representative Karl Gibbs, and Superintendent Burnell McDonald.
The players Roster for the 2018 West Point High School "Green Wave" Football Championship Team is: Shun Crawford, WR, TE; Brandon Harris, ATH; Jaylun Eggerson, RB; Tyler Rupert, SS, FS; Quantaze Powell, DB; Kameron Martin, RB; Tyron Orr, MLB, FB; Brandon Lairy, OLB, MLB; Corbin Kelley, ATH; Ryan Melton, ATH, DB; Brentt Cunningham, LB; Dantariyus Cannon, ATH, RB; Je'qwan Young, WR; Gray Berry, QB; John Facella, WR; Kentavious McMillian, DB, FS; Rhett Ketchum, QB; Jake Chambless, QB; Brian Crawford, ATH; Stededric Griffis, DL; Ladorien Cox, DB; Jakobe Pate, ATH; Kelviontae Gibbs, ATH; Timothy Mays, DE; Jamarquez Petty, DB; Latarius Embry, LB; Jaylen Cungious, DL; Reco Bailey, DB; Jimothy Mays, RB; Eric Blanchard, DB; Trey Ryland, ATH; Donte Smith, DL; Tyun Robinson, LB; Jeremiah Walker, RB; Aaron Brown, DB; Ja'darius Clay, SS; Zyshean Logan, FB; Christopher Chandler, DL; Jordan Rupert, WR; Jaquarius Thomas, TE, DE; Lapriest Starks, CB; Jaylin Rush, DL; Jaylon Webb, DT; Thomas Robinson, WR; Leondra Thompson, CB; Treddis Anderson, TE; Markel Walker, DT; Timothy Melton, LB; Jamaris Ewing, DT, DE; Deundra Thompson, DE; Ezekiel Head, T, TE; Bryson Thomas, DE; Robert Spearmon, DL; Miller Conn, C; Jaekwon Bradshaw, G; Jacarius Harper, DT, DE; Jalon Sanders, LB; Iverion Cungious, OL; Frank Bean, C; Justin Collins, OL; John Farr, OL; John Austin Ricks, OL; Dontavious Myers, DL; Xavier Collins, DL; Jose Lemus, K, P; Jaquavis Young, OL; Nehemiah Walker, FB, G; Kearis Smith, OL; Tyjai Matthews, DL; Kameron Dyson, T; Jonquez Roby, T; Jamar Davis, OL; Daveion Reives, T, G; Calvin Montgomery, DE; Daveon Rice, ATH, CB; Daniel Comer, LS; Dewayne Smith, WR; Kalib Ford, TE; Christopher Terry, WR; Deundre Hicks, DB; Jamarcus Loyd, DB; Sema'j Harris, TE; Montavious Edwards, RB; Jay Quinn, WR; and Taurus Gunn, DL; Head Coach/Athletic Director Chris Chambless; and Assistant Coaches: Roger Burton, Alex Williams, Brett Morgan, Casey Welch, Jerry Fremin, Matt Snow, Joshua Pulphus, Charles Herron and Mark Hysaw.